HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Review

The HP Pavilion dv6t Quad Edition was HP’s best selling laptop last year, so it’s no surprise that this model was the first to receive the Intel Ivy Bridge upgrade before the rest of the company’s laptop lineup.  The new HP dv6t Quad Edition for 2012, that we’ll refer to as the dv6tqe for short, is targeted at buyers that want a laptop with enough power to replace your bulky and immobile desktop PC yet still have a laptop that is of a reasonable enough size to move around or use in your lap.  The dv6tqe has a new design that should appeal to a wide audience, and also has some improved features and of course big performance advantages over last years model.

HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition

As is standard for our reviews, we ordered this PC direct from HP to get the full shopping experience, this is not a review model sent from HP so you’re getting an honest opinion on ordering, shipping and what’s received.   I ordered the dv6t-7000 edition on April 30th, the day it was first available, and it arrived to my door on May 15th.  There was a one day delay in the build and HP sent an email to apologize along with a 15% off coupon on a future order, not bad for what was a minor inconvenience in the first place.

The dv6t-7000 arrived in a standard brown box as seen below:

dv6t-7000 box

You don’t get the luxury unpacking experience that an HP ENVY laptop offers with its black box and fancy packaging, but that’s not really an important aspect of why you buy a computer.  Inside the box you get the following contents:

  • dv6t-7000 Quad dition Laptop
  • Power brick and charge cable
  • Documentation and warranty
  • Battery (6-cell standard)

IMG_0502-001

You don’t get recovery discs, you’ll have to burn those if you want them.  No manufacturer includes restore discs these days, so it’s not just HP shorting you here.

Before going any further let’s go over the specs of this dv6t Quad Edition under review:

  • Processor: Intel Core i7-3610QM
  • Screen: 15.6” Full HD (1920 x 1080 resolution) matte anti-glare finish
  • Graphics: Nvidia GT 650M with 1GB GDDR5 memory
  • Memory: 8GB DDR3 (2 DIMM)
  • Storage: 750GB 7200RPM HD
  • Battery: 6-cell Lithium Ion, quotes 6 hours of battery life
  • Backlit keyboard with number pad
  • Built-in WebCam
  • Weight: 5.5lbs
  • Ports: monitor out, HDMI, Ethernet LAN (RJ-45), three USB 3.0 ports, one USB 2.0 port, headphone jack, microphone jack, media card reader
  • Wireless: 802.11 b/g/n Wi-Fi
  • Optical Drive: Blu Ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
  • Dimensions: 14.88” x 9.71” x 1.22” (Width x Depth x Height)

Design

HP has switched to a new design with the dv6t-7000 and dv7t-7000 series that they’re calling part of the Mosaic of product designs from HP.   While that’s all a bit of drivel to be quite honest, what it does mean in real terms is that HP has gone to a look that features precise lines and tapered profiles and in their flagship products are using premium materials such as aluminum and magnesium.

HP dv6t-7000 lid

The dv6tqe is offered in just one color, midnight black.  Last year they offered a dark brown and silver design on this model, but as it turns out black is the most popular color option so HP just settled on that this year.  And that’s a good thing, the black design is classic and the subtle aluminum brush strokes are a nice touch.  The lid has a silver rim and features an illuminated HP logo, it’s a classy look from up above and it doesn’t pick up fingerprints too much.

HP logo illuminated

Inside the look is again all black, the bezel around the screen has a glossy finish that picks up a lot of fingerprints.  The keyboard tray area has the same glossy finish, though the keys themselves are a matte finish.  The palm rest areas have the same brush metal finish you see on the lid.  The sides of the laptop where the ports are located have a silver color finish, the material used here is plastic, but it’s solid and durable feeling nonetheless.  At the top of the keyboard and below the screen are two mesh like speaker grilles.  I should mention that the speaker grille below the screen is just glued on, I had the unfortunate luck of peeling mine off a little when removing protective plastic layer after unboxing.  This is unfortunate, HP should have used a snap in technique to secure these speakers to the body.

The bottom of the dv6tqe is made of what seems to be a very rigid and durable plastic.  There’s a subwoofer located here.  You can easily remove the battery using a release button and accessing the hard drive, wireless card and memory is easily done with the removal of just one screw.

HP dv6t-7000 underside

The overall look of the dv6t-7000 is great, it’s clean and appealing, the red Beats Audio logo branding at the top is subtle but actually looks cool against the black.

IMG_0539

Build Quality

As mentioned previously the materials used in the dv6t are a mix of aluminum and plastic, making it a rigid and solidly built notebook.  The lid and palm rest areas use an aluminum chassis while the side of the laptop are a rigid plastic material.  The bottom appears to be a rigid plastic.  There’s no flex to be found anywhere on the body of the laptop.

As mentioned earlier, I was one of the first to order this laptop when it became available on HP.com.  As such I think HP was still working out a few QA issues as the fit and finish wasn’t up to the normal standards I’d have with an HP notebook.  The palm rest on the right side was somewhat sunken with the plastic side poking up slightly.  Also, the speaker grill on the bottom of the screen peeled off a bit when I was removing the plastic protective shipping material.  While I do think this is a poor showing on the part of HP, I contacted the company to report these issues and am getting a replacement unit.  HP is great with returns and exchanges, you have a 21-day window to make a return at no cost, no questions asked.

Overall though you’re going to find the dv6tqe is a high quality laptop with excellent build quality, and if you do have any issues HP will stand behind their product and fix or replace what’s wrong.

Screen

HP offers two options for the 15.6” screen, the standard screen is a glossy 1366 x 768 while the premium upgrade is a 1920 x 1080 resolution matte finish screen.  The dv6tqe under review has the premium screen, it was a $150 upgrade at the time and in my opinion well worth it.  This screen is amazing, it has excellent viewing angles and accurate color reproduction.  That’s all on top of the amazing Full HD 1920 x 1080 resolution that allows you to easily fit two windows on the screen at the same time or see several rows and columns of a spreadsheet.  The matte finish is also much appreciated as it reduces glare on the screen and prevents eye strain.

Below are a few pictures comparing viewing angles of the Flowers HD wallpaper we use for the sake of comparing screen color reproduction from one laptop to the next.

IMG_0527-001_thumb2 IMG_0528-001_thumb2
IMG_0529-001_thumb2 IMG_0530_thumb2

We were also asked to demonstrate the popular lagom viewing angle test, those images are below and you can also watch a YouTube video demo we did of the lagom.nl test:

IMG_0617 IMG_0619
IMG_0618 IMG_0620

It’s a no brainer to get the upgraded 1920 x 1080 screen if you can afford it, it’s one of the better screens I’ve seen in awhile and the viewing angles are so good it behaves like an IPS screen.

Performance

Of course one of the big reasons people are interested in buying the dv6t-7000 Quad Edition is due to the powerful Intel Core i7 Quad core processor that uses the new Ivy Bridge platform.  That, combined with the Nvidia GeForce GT 650M graphics card makes this a formidable gaming machine, and at a price of under $1,000 after coupons it’s also affordable.  Needless to say, for typical work tasks such as using the web or office applications this machine flies.  You really don’t need as much power as is under the hood here to do regular work.  If you’re into photography and do a lot of rendering or video processing, the Core i7-3610QM on board will shine and churn through that type of multimedia software too.  You can upgrade to even faster Core i7 offerings, but for most that’s really not going to be necessary.

We ran a few benchmarks to see how the dv6tqe stood up to laptops we’ve reviewed in the past.  You might say the comparison is unfair as there’s new technology on board, but it at least demonstrates the fact you’re getting a nice performance jump by buying the latest Intel and Nvidia hardware.

PCMark 7

PCMark 7 measures the overall system performance, the dv6t beat the ENVY 17-3000 from earlier in the year making it the most powerful HP notebook we’ve reviewed.

image

Laptop PCMark 7 Score
HP dv6t-7000 Quad Edition, Intel Core i7-3610QM, Nvidia GT650M, 7200RPM HD 2,877 PCMarks
HP Envy 17-3000, Intel Core i7-2670QM, AMD 7690M, 6GB RAM, 7200RPM HD 2,703 PCMarks
Lenovo IdeaPad Y570 – Intel Core i7-2670QM, Nvidia 555M 1GB, 8GB RAM,5400RPM HD 2,573 PCMarks
Dell XPS 17 (Core i5-2410m 2.30GHz, Nvidia 550m, 6GB RAM, HD 7200RPM) 1,995 PCMarks
Sony VAIO SA (Intel Core i5-2430M 2.50GHz, AMD Radeon 6630M, 4GB RAM) 2,002 PCMarks

 

3DMark 11

Measures 3D graphics performance  and is the most recent 3D testing benchmark from FutureMark.  The Nvidia 650M really shined, it easily trounced the Nvidia GT640M LE in the Lenovo Y480 we reviewed.

image

Laptop 3DMark 11
HP dv6t-7000 Quad Edition, Intel Core i7-3610QM, Nvidia GT650M, 7200RPM HD 2,365
Lenovo IdeaPad Y480 (Intel Core i7-3610QM, NVIDIA 640M LE, 8GB RAM, 5400RPM HD) 1,333
Lenovo IdeaPad Y470p (Intel Core i5-2450m, AMD 7690M, 6GB RAM, 5400RPM HD) 1,339
Dell XPS 17 (Core i5-2410m 2.30GHz, Nvidia 550m, 6GB RAM, HD 7200RPM) 1,041

3DMark Vantage

3DMark Vantage is an older but more popular 3D benchmarking suite, the dv6 soared past the 10,000 score mark on this which is quite astounding.

image

Laptop 3DMark Vantage
HP dv6t-7000 Quad Edition, Intel Core i7-3610QM, Nvidia GT650M, 7200RPM HD 10,108
Lenovo IdeaPad Y480 (Intel Core i7-3610QM, NVIDIA 640M LE, 8GB RAM, 5400RPM HD) 5,587
HP Envy 17-3000, Intel Core i7-2670QM, AMD 7690M, 6GB RAM, 7200RPM HD 6,970
Dell XPS 17 (Core i5-2410m 2.30GHz, Nvidia 550m, 6GB RAM, HD 7200RPM) 4,747
HP Pavilion dv6t Select Edition – Intel Core i5-2410m, Intel HD 3000 Graphics, 6GB RAM 1,845

The only “weak spot” of the dv6t-7000 is its standard hard drive storage, you could upgrade to an SSD for even better overall scores.  However, since many people using such a sized laptop want it for multimedia and storing a lot of files, I think the standard hard drive will be more popular thanks to its much higher capacity and cheaper price.  You can get up to 1TB of storage.  With the dv7t Quad Edition and its dual bays you can get an astounding 2TB of storage!

The Windows Experience Index (WEI) score helps to bring home the message that the storage is the weak spot, it scored a 5.9 while all other components scored above 7:

WEI score

HP does offer a 32GB mini-SSD cache, they call it a mSATA SSD acceleration.  That’s not going to store the OS on it and offer SSD like performance for booting up, but it can help with caching and speeding up the overall experience.  Basically it uses Intel’s Smart Reponse Technology and acts like memory,  AnandTech has a good review of this technology.  I did not choose this $50 option so can’t comment on the performance benefit.

In terms of gaming performance, the dv6t-7000 with the Nvidia 650M will be capable of playing any modern game, though you may have to tweak the settings a bit to get the frame rates you want on the latest games such as Skyrim and Batman: Arkham City.  Playing games at a 1366 x 768 resolution will also help frame rates immensely.

One thing to mention is that the dv6t can switch between Intel’s HD 4000 integrated graphics and the Nvidia graphics thanks to the Nvidia Optimus technology.  This means you only use the power hungry graphics when you need to, saving on power and thereby offering longer battery life.

Keyboard and Touchpad

The dv6t uses a chiclet style keyboard and has enough space to accommodate a number pad on the right side.  The keys have a fairly short travel distance, which is good for fast touch typists but if you’re a clumsy typist this could result in more key press mistakes.  The keyboard is firm, you really have to push down to find any flex.  My favorite aspect of the keyboard is most definitely the backlighting option.  It is $25 extra to get the keyboard backlight, but the cost is well worth it.   The look is cool and it’s all the more usable in a dimly lit room.

HP includes is a fingerprint reader as a standard feature, this is nice as an alternate form of login for Windows and can be used on any website that requires use of login, the software will store your login credentials after you login to a website for the first time and from then on a finger swipe can be used to login.

The top row Function keys (F1 – F12) act as dedicated media type buttons, for instance you can just push F10 to turn up the volume,  you don’t have to hold Fn + F10.

IMG_0505-001 IMG_0525-001

The touchpad is a decent size and works well, it uses synaptics drivers and has all the scroll and multi-touch features you’d expect.  Unfortunately the touchpad area is not backlit like the keyboard, this is odd since on last years dv6t model the touchpad did have illumination.  The mouse buttons below the touchpad are a let down, while they work fine, they have very little travel distance and don’t give convincing feedback – the feel is pretty chintzy.

Battery Life

While battery life isn’t the most important aspect of a desktop replacement style laptop, it’s still nice to have a long lasting battery in case you need to be mobile and away from a power outlet.   You can choose between either a regular 6-cell or larger 9-cell battery.  HP quotes the 6-cell battery as offering 6-hours while the 9-cell should offer around 9 hours.   This review unit has the regular 6-cell.  I put it to the test by putting the Windows power setting to “Power Saver”, screen brightness on the 3rd notch, wireless on and had a web browser open that refreshed the page every 60 seconds.  Under this light usage scenario the dv6t-7000 was able to achieve 5.5 hours of battery life.  I consider that a pretty good number considering this is a large laptop and you probably won’t be trying to use it on a long flight, more than likely it’ll be desk bound.

battery compartment

Ports

As you would expect with a 15.6” screen notebook designed to be a multimedia / gaming machine you get a good selection of ports. On the left side you have a monitor out port, HDMI, Ethernet LAN (RJ-45), two USB 3.0 ports, headphone jack, and microphone jack:

HP dv6tqe left side

 

On the right side, you get another USB 3.0 port, USB 2.0 port, the power jack and the optical drive which is Blu-Ray in this case:

HP dv6tqe right side

On the front side you get an SD card reader:

IMG_0516-001

Heat and Noise

One important aspect of a laptop often overlooked is how well it manages heat and stays cool.  This is especially a concern in a laptop designed for performance as they tend to use a lot more power.  I’ve read varying experiences in online forums for this model with some complaining of unexpectedly hot surface areas and processor temperatures but I can’t say that’s been my experience.  Granted, if you do some intense 3D gaming for an hour or more the notebook will get warm and you really need to make sure it’s on a flat surface with proper ventilation.   Below is a picture of the dv6tqe with the temperature measured using an infrared heat laser in each area after running a game for 20 minutes (measured in Fahrenheit):

temps

The palm rest areas remained cool while the left side of the keyboard did get warm, right above the heat vent the surface reached 105F which is definitely warm, but not ridiculously so (remember, these temps are taken after running a benchmark).  While running benchmarks the processor cores reached the low to mid 50 Celsius range, which is again warm but far from extreme.  Under normal operating conditions (browsing, watching YouTube videos) the processor core temperatures were around 45C, this is the same temperature as the ThinkPad X220 I use with a Core i5 processor and much, much cooler than the two year old MacBook Pro I use which hovers around 55C when doing nothing.

The fans did run pretty frequently in order to keep the dv6t cool, when gaming or running benchmarks the fans revved up to a high speed.  However, I did not find the fan noise to be annoying, there was no high pitched whirr or buzz, just a typical blowing noise you’d expect.  When idling the fans would turn off if not needed, but a majority of the time they were on at least a low level spin.

Speakers and Audio

The dv6t-7000 has four speakers on top, two above the keyboard and two on the screen, and then a subwoofer underneath.  HP uses the Beats audio branding on this machine and touts its superior audio capabilities.  I tested the speakers out by playing “Fort Battle” from the soundtrack of Last of the Mohicans, it offers a lot of bass and treble to test speakers out.  The subwoofer did give some nice bass, better than you’d expect from a laptop.  However, the quad speakers did not live up to their billing.  There was a good amount of tininess and nothing like the audio quality you’d get from using headphones, which is what I recommend to do if you’re an audiophile.

Subwoofer

Ease of Upgrades

HP makes if fairly easy to reach internal components and make upgrades in the dv6t.  You can remove a panel on the bottom of the laptop by removing one screw, by doing so you get access to the hard drive, memory slots and wireless card.

dv6t-7000 under side

Conclusion

With a recent deal via a coupon the HP dv6t-7000 Quad Edition price fell to $770, which is an insanely good price for such a high quality laptop that has so much power.  This notebook is solidly built with an aluminum chassis and rigid feel all over.  The new Intel Ivy Bridge processor combined with Nvidia GT 650M graphics makes this a capable gaming laptop, but if you have no interest in gaming then it can double as a powerful workstation for demanding applications.  The Full HD 1920 x 1080 screen is a dream, it has excellent viewing angles, color reproduction and anti-glare finish.  It’s not all rainbows and butterflies though, disappointments included the glued on speaker grill, cheap feeling mouse buttons, annoying glossy screen bezel and there was a lot of bloatware that needed to be removed.  No laptop is perfect, and these are small complaints for an otherwise excellent machine.  If you’re looking for a powerful laptop with a bit of mobility and don’t want to break the bank, look no further than the 2012 edition of the dv6t Quad Edition.

Pros

  • Great price to feature ratio, recently priced starting under $800 with coupon
  • Amazing performance with the Intel Core i7 Ivy Bridge processor and Nvidia GT 650M
  • 1920 x 1080 screen is gorgeous
  • Keyboard backlighting is a great new feature
  • Lots of upgrade options, easy to configure online

Cons

  • Mouse buttons below touchpad are chintzy
  • Fit and finish build quality issues with this early production unit (April 2012)
  • Enough bloatware to warrant removing some, an annoying waste of time
  • Glossy screen bezel is a fingerprint magnet

Here are links to the latest HP Laptop Deals!



88 Responses to HP Pavilion dv6t-7000 Quad Edition Review

  1. Dave May 22, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    Another great review! Thanks, Andrew.

  2. Luke May 22, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

    great review, but how does the sound and the screen(gamut, contrast and viewing angles) compare to the Dell xps 15 (l502x) ?

    • Andrew Baxter May 22, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

      It’s not as bright as the Dell XPS L502X for sure, however I felt that the XPS 15 was a little over saturated. Viewing angles, probably about the same. Wow factor the XPS 15 still wins, especially for movie watching. If I’m working all day long, I’d probably choose the dv6t screen because it’s a little easier on the eyes after several hours.

  3. David May 22, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Wow !!!
    Great review man !
    I think HP should give you some money because after that review, many will buy this laptop.

    • Mia August 11, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

      I just ordered one :) let’s see if it will live up to this review :P
      I paid $850 for it, where did u find your coupons ?

  4. David May 22, 2012 at 5:18 pm #

    What are the options for getting an ssd? it’s a shame removing the blue ray drive…..

    • Andrew Baxter May 22, 2012 at 8:39 pm #

      Well, I can’t find the mSATA slot and since I don’t want to void the warranty I don’t want to pull this thing apart. So, basically the choice is replacing the Hard Drive with a 2.5″ SSD. That size offers better performance any way. The dv7t has two drive slots, if you’re heart is set on having more drive options and configs that may be a better bet.

  5. Andrew May 22, 2012 at 5:43 pm #

    Can you clarify whether or not this laptop has USB3? It says on the website it only has USB2, and in the summary in the first part of your review you say it has 4USB2 but later on you mention the USB3.

    Thanks.

    • Andrew Baxter May 22, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

      Sorry about the typos there, and the HP site is wrong, it has THREE USB 3.0 and ONE USB 2.0!

  6. Luke May 22, 2012 at 5:46 pm #

    Thanks for the reply, but how about the sound quality?

    • Andrew Baxter May 22, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

      Compared to the Dell XPS 15 I assume? The XPS 15 wins there. It had a richer sound. I don’t know if that’ll hold for the new model (L521X) since they’re overhauling the design to be thinner, they won’t have room for the same quality speakers.

  7. Luke May 22, 2012 at 6:07 pm #

    thanks, that’s all i needed to know.

  8. David May 22, 2012 at 8:03 pm #

    Andrew, what is the speed of the RAM ? is it 1333 Mhz to 1600?

    • Andrew Baxter May 23, 2012 at 1:15 am #

      Just checked using Astra32 system information, shows up as 1600MHz (both DIMMS).

  9. Arnaldo G. May 22, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    Awesome review. Exactly the kind of examination i was looking for. I’m currently debating this notebook and a few others. Again, thanks for the good / thorough work.

    • Andrew Baxter May 22, 2012 at 8:40 pm #

      great, glad some of the information helped!

  10. Kevin May 22, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    how did you get it for $770 with recent coupon? with your build and minus the 32GB mSSD it is $950. to get to that low you have to get give up 1080p screen and 630M

    • Andrew Baxter May 23, 2012 at 1:04 am #

      I paid over $1,000 at the time of order. Should have added that (will do). That reference to $770 was just the base configuration purchase price that could be achieved.

  11. Noah May 22, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

    I really wish you got that mSATA drive, I would’ve loved to see how much of a help it would’ve been. Since its not really a boot drive per se, can we buy another aftermarket mSATA that has enough space for the OS and certian programs and just use that as a drive? I need the HDD because I have many things I need it for, but I also want SSD performance, I think its possible to have both with this one.

    • Andrew Baxter May 23, 2012 at 1:03 am #

      I couldn’t find the the mSATA slot that would have been used for the cache, I’m not sure if HP didn’t include it or if they’re somehow soldering that SSD to the motherboard and not really offering a way to put in your own mSATA SSD. The dv7t does offer two bays that can be accessed from the bottom panel, so SSD + HD combo would be a cinch there. It’ll take some extra effort with the dv6t.

  12. Jeff May 22, 2012 at 9:08 pm #

    I have a question about this Notebook. I am trying to get this one for playing Diablo 3…
    What should I do for customize for this notebook to work well with Diablo 3?
    So basically, I would like to know if there is any necessary upgrades that I need to do?
    Thanks..
    And This was the greatest review I have ever seen. Your review makes me wanna buy this laptop even more.

    • Andrew Baxter May 23, 2012 at 1:00 am #

      thanks for the feedback Jeff. Make sure to go with the Nvidia 650M if you want to play Diablo 3. Other than that, really no extra upgrades necessary. It comes with 8GB of RAM and the standard Core i7-3610QM will be fine. A faster 7200RPM would be nice, but from what I understand that’s not available to configure now.

  13. Henk de Vries May 22, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    Temperature of the cores seem a bit low?
    In most reviews of laptops with the i7-3610QM, cores easily get to 80-90 degrees C after benchmarking.
    Did you do anything different or is hp cooling so much better all of a sudden?

    • Andrew Baxter May 23, 2012 at 12:38 am #

      I didn’t do anything, temperatures were taken using Core Temp and did not approach the 80 – 90C. I don’t know what to say other than I call it as I see it, I can take a screenshot or shoot video if there’s any doubt to the claims made here.

  14. Derek May 22, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

    Thanks very much for the review! If that 33% off coupon is still working, I think I’m going to pull the trigger

  15. zach job May 22, 2012 at 11:57 pm #

    Ordered the same config as you except I unfortunately had to go with the 1TB 5400 HD. Love the review-can’t wait to get it in two weeks!

  16. David May 23, 2012 at 6:24 am #

    Does anyone know a good HDD/SSD caddy for this model?
    I really want to get a SSD working with the 1TB HDD.

  17. Rio May 23, 2012 at 7:56 am #

    Andrew, is this laptop good for a long term use ? i heard that hp laptop usually have problem on the screen

    • Andrew Baxter May 23, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

      Well I can’t travel forward in time and assure you that this laptop is built to last 3+ years, but I think it’s an unfair generalization to say HP laptop screens are more prone to failure than another brand. I find HP quality to be on par with other major brands, especially if you’re buying a premium product or business laptop. I always recommend buying a laptop with a credit card that offers an extra 1-year warranty extension, if a laptop is going to fail it often does so between the 12 – 24 month time frame, and if you have warranty protection during that time any problem with the screen will get fixed. Read this article I wrote to find out more about how to get the extra 1-year of warranty via your credit card company.

    • Rio May 28, 2012 at 8:29 am #

      unfortunately i didnt live on america but in asia

  18. Frank May 23, 2012 at 1:03 pm #

    dv6tqe vs. the new Envy with Ivy Bridge? I’ve always been a fan of the Envy’s appearance. For the additional $200-300 after coupon would the Envy be worth the purchase when it arrives over the dv6tqe?

    • Andrew Baxter May 23, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

      There’s often a lot of debate between ENVY / Pavilion as often the components are pretty much the same internally. The design and some of the materials for the ENVY are more premium and it does look nicer, it also uses a unibody design (like the MacBook) so you won’t get any rough edges and less chance of poor fit and finish. You also get a 2-year warranty standard with the ENVY, which is definitely worth some $$. The one thing I don’t like is the “not easy to replace” battery the ENVY has, that’s just a personal preference to have the option to replace/upgrade the battery easily.

  19. Alex May 23, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    How many antennas does the wireless card have? I think I can mod the BIOS to whitelist the cards, but I need to know how many antennas there are.

  20. Gabe May 24, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    Ok so after playing a bit more with mine, i found that using the 9 cell battery, for some reason i cant figure out, causes the palm rest to feel hotter then when using the 6 cell. But the inside cpu temp was about the same, give or take 1-3 degrees.

  21. David May 29, 2012 at 10:20 am #

    Dear Andrew,

    I’ve heard that there’s a problem with the battery easily popping out when press out.
    The battery lock isn’t strong enough……
    Do u have this problem?
    People reporting that it happens when the laptop is moved back and fourth…

    • Andrew Baxter May 29, 2012 at 8:16 pm #

      David, I didn’t have that problem with mine. I actually returned to the dv6t-7000 in exchange for a dv7t-7000 so I’ll check for the problem on that when it arrives, I imagine the engineering is the same.

    • David May 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

      Thanks for your help.
      I should get mine in a few days and i’m scared to find all kind of defects.
      I’m traveling abroad in less than a month so won’t be able to get a new one if something is wrong.

      If i get the bezel issue like u had – do u think it’s worth returning it or i can just glue it myself?

    • Andrew Baxter May 30, 2012 at 3:53 am #

      To be honest it really wasn’t that big of a deal, my main reason for exchanging it for the dv7t was so I can review that and check it out as well! Just be careful when you tear off any protective plastic packaging and you’ll be fine.

    • Andrew June 4, 2012 at 2:15 pm #

      I had the battery fall out a couple times. It’s due to bad ergonomics (the release button is right where your fingers are when your holding the laptop from the backside.)

      As long as your careful not to press the button then the battery doesn’t fall out on it’s own.

  22. Derek May 31, 2012 at 11:18 pm #

    From my understanding the mSATA is on the top side of the motherboard and restricts you for some reason to only 8GB of RAM. You can only order it with a std drive; not a hybrid or solid state.

  23. Derek May 31, 2012 at 11:19 pm #

    Several guys with the new Samsung 17.3″ ivy bridge have removed the standard drive and put in a solid state and used the Intel mSATA software to configure that as extra storage

  24. David June 4, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    Does anybody know how to fix the unaligned blue ray faceplate on the DV6-7000?
    Is it a design flaw?

    • Michael June 5, 2012 at 3:04 am #

      I was wondering the exact same thing. I guess you can send it back to hp and ask for a fix but i’d rather not wait…

  25. Snider June 5, 2012 at 2:26 am #

    I’m basically happy with the dv7t-7000. But I had two unpleasant surprises. First, on the right side of the screen, the screen and the cover were separated by about a millimeter. I kept trying to push them back together, but they wouldn’t stay. Top and left of screen were no problem. The separation was a matter of fit and finish, not lost functionality. HP said it would ship me a replacement but that was too much of a hassle; I had already moved my data and programs to my new machine.

    Second, I was hoping to be able to plug in separate monitors into the VGA and HDMI ports. I couldn’t even test this out because the ports were so close to each other that a VGA and HDMI plug couldn’t be inserted simultaneously. It’s probably not fair for me to be upset about this because the laptop probably would have had a displayport if dual use was envisaged. Still, this was a disappointment. I believe the video card can easily handle three displays.

    A third issue that was a very minor disappointment is that the volume is not as loud as I expected. Given that I often work with some background noise, I like a fairly loud speaker. Quality is not the issue (at least for me); it’s just the volume.

    • Chinedu September 26, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

      press fn + B.

  26. Snider June 5, 2012 at 2:31 am #

    Three minor issues with the new 17″ DV7:

    1) Screen and cover were separated about a millimeter on right side of screen.
    2) VGA and HDMI outputs were too close to use simultaneously.
    3) Volume seems only average. Not loud enough for a room with a lot of other workers.

  27. David June 5, 2012 at 5:26 am #

    Hello guys,

    Why is it so important to make a fresh install of win7?
    The reason i’m asking is because i installed my Kingston Hyperx 3k 120GB SSD
    into the dv6 (without making a fresh install of win7) using a migration software.
    The problem is that i don’t get the speeds like in many reviews…..it’s 30% slower.
    do u think that my SSD is faulty ?
    Should i be worried? i’m kinda new with SSD’s….

  28. magellan June 7, 2012 at 7:02 pm #

    I ordered this laptop for my son for college. Using the coupon I saved $498 total. Wow!

    At first I opted for the 7200 hybrid, but after reading some tech articles, it appears the mSSD is the way to go. If someone can convince me otherwise, speak up.

    The rest:
    default cpu
    2gb video card
    HD display
    backlit keys
    bluetooth
    90 cell battery

    grand total: $1001

    I’m sure glad I ran across this website.

    • Andrew Baxter June 7, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

      So glad the information helped you out, that’s a nice looking configuration. I haven’t heard too much about the performance advantage of the mSSD but would be curious to hear anyone’s impressions that has it.

  29. Patrick Matias June 8, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Just bought a brand new hp laptop last week ago (26/05/2012) for a discount price of $1079NZD (New Zealand Dollar), plus with a added extra 4gb ram for $59.99NZD. Grand total of $1138.99NZD!!

    One problem is there is a slight tear from the upper left corner of the speaker cover, near the fan area, but doesn’t bother me much. What I’m really worried about that it’s reliability, need to see if this laptop can last a year. Already tested the battery life and it seems to last at least 6 hours, 30 mins-been watching youtube, typing on facebook etc general use so yeah.

    I had no heat issues what so ever, tested this laptop battery for 6+ hours and no overheating or any high-pitch fan noise, thanks to the hp-cool-sense tech!!

    I love the beats Audio man. Without it enabled, listening to music seems so flat as there sin’t that much bass. Enabling the beats audio gives it more BASS as it has 4 speakrs near the screen monitor and a sub-woofer right underneath the laptop, so that makes 5 speakers!!

    Laptop is good enough for me and it’s just a medium spec laptop just to use it for general use or for med spec gaming etc.

    I have a smaller battery recharger compared to your one in the US.

    Here’s the specs, not quite like yours but it’s still good though. Tell me what you think?

    – 2.5GHz 2nd Gen Intel Core i5-2450M Processor
    – 8GB DDR3 Ram (4GB + 4GB)
    – 500GB Hard Drive
    – Nvidia GeForce GT 630M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5
    – The HP TrueVision HD Webcam makes you look good in any light. Whether you are on an HD video call or filming an HD blog post, you will look your best.
    – 15.6″ diagonal High Definition HP BrightView LED Display (1366×768)
    – Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet
    – Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium
    – Beats Audio Quad Speakers + Sub-woofer

    • Andrew Baxter June 8, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Not a bad configuration at all Patrick, and for your needs just perfect, there’s no point dishing out more dollars than you need on something overly powerful. That said, even at the nice price you got in NZD that equates to about $870 USD and you could have gotten a 3rd generation Core i7 processor and Nvidia 650M graphics for that price. Electronics are cheaper here ;)

  30. Patrick Matias June 8, 2012 at 9:54 pm #

    But if I want the 3rd gen ivy bridge model, it will cost me at least over $2,200 NZD!!! Way too much over here in NZ. I wouls rather spend at least under $1,200NZD for a laptop for a guarantee price.

    • Patrick Matias June 8, 2012 at 10:05 pm #

      Oh yeah forgot to mention to you about the price of the laptop. On May 26th, during the weekends, there was 20% reduce price of all hp laptops and I asked the staff who was working there if the original price of it was at least $1349NZD and said yes and asked if it was now $1079NZD and said yes. I would accepted that but he also offered an 8gb ram option. The 8gb ram option (extra 4gb) would’ve cost me at least $179.99NZD!!! Gosh that’s ridiculous!! I mean who would want to pay for that much for a 4gb ram? I had to convince the guy that I don’t have enough cash to pay over $1,200NZD, so what I suggested to him si that he should reduce the rams price to at least $59.99 if he wants to sell this laptop for 20% off, plus reducing the price of the extra 4gb ram for it’s customer (ME).

      Anyway he accepted it and I gladly replied back by saying “thank you sir for giving me a proper deal”. There, hope he makes his boss very proud of that he had made a sale and I surely accepted it.

    • Patrick Matias June 8, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

      Electronics aren’t cheap here in New Zealand mate. Because of the shipping/importing costs.

      Oh by the way, I have a short video review of it on youtube. Here’s the link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SoMeEGv5k4I

  31. John Griffith June 9, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    Thanks for the review Andrew. I found it very informative. I was going to wait until the introduction of the Haswell architecture to purchase a new laptop, but alas my autumn 2008 HP DV7 went on the blink, and I decided to upgrade to the new DV7tqe-7000 with the GT 650M and 1920×1080 screen. However, when I contacted various departments at HP both by phone and email they were unable to inform me about the specifics ( make and model ) of the various hard drives, the high def screen, or for that matter even the speed of the DDR3 RAM. Finally, I received an email today stating that the make and model of the components is proprietary to HP and they do not release the information, which is absurd on the face of it as the products are publicly sold! However, she did say the RAM was 1333. Today I read on your site that it is 1600 – is that the type of RAM in the original DV6 or in the DV7 your replaced it with? Also, anyone know what the make and model of the 1TB hard drive is, as well as the 750 GB hybrid drive, and is the latter worth the upgrade. BTW, today I finished taking apart and putting back together my old DV7, reslotting everything, ( it had been dropped once some months back ), jiggling the DC jack, and blowing the dust out from its interior, when lo and behold! it now works. However, now that the new laptop bug has bit me, I am almost certainly going to buy a new laptop anyway. Do you think the woman at HP simply does not know the speed of the RAM and just guessed, or they ran out of 1600 – or it is different in the DV6 and the DV7. Anyway thanks again.

    John

  32. R.K. CHOLAYIL June 11, 2012 at 7:27 pm #

    I’m waiting for my dv6t-7000 to arrive with configuration identical to Andrew’s. I’m planning to upgrade 480GB Scandisk SDD running on Winddows 7 Ultimate 64 bit. Are all HP drivers available for download? Any tips?

  33. Kaiote June 13, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    Howdy!

    I just purchased the Pavilion dv6t-7000 over the weekend (doesn’t ship until June 26th) to replace my Pavilion dv4 Entertainment PC which has gone on the fritz. I mainly use my laptop for day to day computing (Word, Excel, email, browsing) and the occasional gaming. I am a constant multi-tasker and need my replacement laptop to be able to keep up with me and handle the load. So, I have a few questions after reading over your review.

    These are my build specs:
    dv6t Quad Ed
    • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    • 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
    • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory [HDMI, VGA]
    • FREE Upgrade to 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
    • FREE Upgrade to 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
    • NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
    • Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R)
    • No additional security software
    • 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery – Up to 6.0 hours of battery life +++
    • 15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1366×768)
    • FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
    • HP TrueVision HD Webcam
    • Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
    • Backlit Keyboard
    • HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope

    I am wondering…

    The hard drive: I took advantage of the offered upgrade to the 1TB HD without the Protect Smart feature. Does the 1TB HD have this feature and it is just not mentioned? Also, which is the better HD, the 1TB 5400 RPM or the 750GB 7200 rpm Hybrid Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection? I am willing to call HP Cust Support and see about changing my HD depending on your answer. I want the best machine I can get here, and seeing as how there is no price change, it should (in theory) be an easy fix if they are able to oblige.

    The webcam: The description page on HP’s site for the dv6t-7000, on the specs tab, it bullets the HP Webcam as being available with the fingerprint reader. However, during the build process, I was only offered the one option for the Webcam. And it does not specify, neither in the personalization tab during the build process nor on the summary page prior to check out that my machine will be built with the fingerprint reader. Is this a given/standard feature on all dv6t-7000 builds? Or are they simply not offering it as an option on this model any longer?

    Basically, I am upgrading from a 3 year old machine with prehistoric specs:
    Intel Core 2 Duo T5800 @ 2.00GHz
    4 GB RAM
    500 GB HD

    I have no idea what my current graphics card is, but it must be out of date as my WEI is only 3.4. And it is the graphics card pulling in that low score. Hopefully, I will end up with a much faster (and much more silent) machine.

    I thank you for your most wonderful review and look forward to your answers to my questions above. THANKS!!

    • Andrew Baxter June 14, 2012 at 11:39 am #

      hi Kaiote, the 750GB 7200RPM Hybrid Hard Drive would be faster and I think I’d go for that, unless you really need the extra capacity. The fingerprint is not an option on this model, at least not in the North America region, sometimes HP will provide options in other regions not available here but I’m pretty sure it’s just not an option anywhere. You’ll be amazed by the performance the dv6t offers over your current laptop!

    • Kaiote June 24, 2012 at 9:52 pm #

      Hello again.. I have received my dv6t so I thought I would give an update regarding my two previous questions.

      The 1TB hard drive that I chose in my build does have the HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection.

      Also, my laptop DID come with the fingerprint reader and the SmartPass software pre-installed. I was a bit disappointed to learn from Andrew on here that this option was not available, especially after it was obviously included pictures of this model on both the HP website and this website (in this review). So, just wanted to update everyone that my build (which I customized and ordered on 6/9/2012) does in fact have this finger print reader! :)

      I HIGHLY recommend this machine! Given the HP laptop I was using and replaced, this dream machine simply flies and is very impressive with its RAM and processor speeds.

      Enjoy!

  34. Louis June 19, 2012 at 8:28 pm #

    I’m considering getting this laptop. How is the fan noise on just being on for a few hours doing normal tasks, like net browsing, netflix or Youtube? I’ve got a Compaq that’s fan kicks into high gear almost immediately. I don’t intend on doing an immense amount of gaming or anything like that.

    • Andrew Baxter June 19, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

      Louis, you’ll be fine with that kind of usage, the fans only really kick up when gaming or doing intensive tasks for more than 15 – 20 mins. Normal usage like browsing, netflix and YouTube won’t cause the dv6t to sweat.

  35. Matt June 23, 2012 at 4:51 pm #

    I’m noticing that the price on the dv6tqe has been creeping up a few $’s in the last several days (i.e., the one in my cart went from about $950 to $1050). :( Hopefully it’s a sign that as the current promotion ends tomorrow ($400 off), we’ll see a better deal (another 33% off, anyone!?!?!) on Monday. Anyway, fingers crossed.

  36. Jason June 28, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Hey, which coupon code did you use to receive the discount. I was going to purchase this laptop for school. Can you give me some feedback. Furthermore, does the 720p look bad if I do not game at all. Can you please provide some info. What are some other add on’s you suggest? Thanks!

  37. Jason June 28, 2012 at 11:21 pm #

    Also, do you think a 1 tb 5400 rpm is good enough? Also, should I get a 32 gb ssd. I mainly create documents and Internet surfing.

  38. Kinkeido July 1, 2012 at 4:12 am #

    Hi, i want this too but i am in Laos, where can i order?

  39. mango July 5, 2012 at 7:43 am #

    Thanks for the awesome review! It really was what ultimately pushed me into buying this machine, mine is set to ship in a couple of days!

    • Andrew Baxter July 5, 2012 at 11:32 am #

      That’s great to hear, you made a good choice. Good luck with the new dv6t-7000!

  40. Suyash mathema July 6, 2012 at 2:59 am #

    HP dv6tqe with
    3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
    NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory
    8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
    Hard drive 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
    Hard Drive Acceleration Cache 32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
    6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery – Up to 6.0 hours of battery life +++
    15.6-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
    FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
    Backlit Keyboard with numeric keypad
    FOR $1200

    OR

    Lenovo Idea Pad Y580 20994HU – Dawn Gray with
    3rd generation Intel Core i7-3610QM Processor( 2.30GHz 6MB)
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX660M 2GB
    8.0GB PC3-12800 DDR3 SDRAM 1600 MHz
    15.6″ FHD LED Glare Wedge 1920×1080
    1TB 5400RPM+32G SSD
    Blu-ray/DVD-RW
    6 Cell Li-Polymer
    Intel Centrino Wireless-N 2200BGN

    FOR $1219

    • Andrew Baxter July 6, 2012 at 5:22 pm #

      Both the dv6tqe and Y580 are great. I’d go with the Y580 for the better graphics as everything else is equal specs wise in your case. The one big HOWEVER I’d say is that the 1920 x 1080 screen on the dv6tqe is better than the Y580’s — the dv6tqe screen is matte and has much better viewing angles, which is nice. If you’re very picky about screens or don’t like glossy screens, the dv6tqe may be more appealing. See the Y580 review here: http://www.laptopreviews.com/lenovo-ideapad-y580-review-2012-07

  41. Vicki July 9, 2012 at 10:39 pm #

    Hi Andrew,

    Great reviews! I was looking through the list of options on the HP web site, I was wondering if I chose the FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner over the SuperMulti 8X DVD+/-R/RW with Double Layer Support, can I still watch DVD’s and burn CD’s / DVD’s? Or is it just a Blue Ray player?

    Thanks

    • Andrew Baxter July 10, 2012 at 2:21 am #

      Hi Vicki, if you get a Blu Ray player it is able to also play DVDs and burn them (backwards compatible), so the Blu Ray player is the way to go for all of your needs! Good luck.

  42. Allan July 12, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    I have read several of your reviews, and they are all super informative for the actual user types.
    I asked many of the same questions above, and some answered in the article of HP.
    The chat person asked me to call the tech people, as she could not answer the questions – she was using the same HP info as on the order site. HP needs to go back to the “old” specs page.
    The tech person took an hour to answer some questions that if she had actually seen a dv6t 7000 could have answered without all the hmmiing and hawing.
    I was able to wrangle out of her that 22% of dv6t’s are returned for “minor” cosmetic issues. A refurb of this model should be a steal.
    To sum it all up, the HP reps don’t know and don’t have the information (disappointing – they ought to read your article) and the fit and finish issues contiue (very disappointing) for a $1000.00 laptop..

    • Andrew Baxter July 12, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

      hey Allan, that’s interesting feedback, I’ve always found the international HP reps to be overly polite (to the point of annoying) but not very technically informed. At least for the consumer line. The one positive is that they do make it easy to return or exchange if you have an issue, with Lenovo or Dell it’s a 15% cost to return and they’ll often charge you even if it’s cosmetic and don’t want to accept blame. In other words, you really have to wrangle with other brands to avoid a restocking fee. I know HP’s having some fit and finish issues for some shipments and it’s disappointing that it has continued, thought it was a first week new release thing, but if anyone does find that they have a defect at least they can rest assured it’s easy to make a return no money charged.

  43. Seth July 12, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

    Here is what I put in my computer. (needed professional to be added to a network for work). What do you think?

    dv6t Quad Ed
    • Windows 7 Professional 64-bit
    • 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
    • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 2GB GDDR5 memory [HDMI, VGA]
    • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
    • Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R)
    • 750GB 7200 rpm Hybrid Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
    • NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
    • No additional security software
    • 6 Cell Lithium Ion Battery – Up to 6.0 hours of battery life +++
    • 15.6-inch diagonal Full HD Anti-glare LED-backlit Display (1920 x 1080)
    • FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
    • HP TrueVision HD Webcam
    • 802.11b/g/n WLAN
    • Standard Keyboard with numeric keypad
    • HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope

    -$1150

    • Andrew Baxter July 12, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      Looks good, the only thing I question is whether you need the 2GB of RAM for the Nvidia card. The card won’t really use that amount of memory so all you need is 1GB if it’s available for cheaper. Other than that looks great, definitely get the 1920 x 1080 screen, only thing you might think about is the mSSD upgrade as people are reporting it is definitely beneficial for boot up times.

  44. Vicki July 14, 2012 at 3:29 am #

    Hi Andrew,

    Not sure if you know, but I tried to order this laptop. They do not ship to Canada. Tried the Canadian web site, couldn’t find this model on it. any suggestions on how I can order this computer??

    Thanks

    Vicki

  45. Kevin J July 16, 2012 at 2:38 am #

    I ordered mine this weekend. It should arrive by July 26… However I ordered the standard screen instead of the 1080p… along with the 1G 650M… I don’t really play games on pc’s and since this is for work, well I feel that I wouldn’t need it, and 720p is fine with me.

    • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    • 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
    • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 650M Graphics with 1GB GDDR5 memory [HDMI, VGA]
    • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
    • Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R)
    • 1TB 5400 rpm Hard Drive
    • 32GB mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
    • No additional security software
    • 30% off 9 cell Lithium Ion Battery
    • 15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1366×768)
    • FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
    • HP TrueVision HD Webcam
    • 802.11b/g/n WLAN
    • Backlit Keyboard with numeric keypad

    So initially I was going to buy a similar laptop from Lenovo with same specs… but I chose HP instead. I just hope it was worth choosing HP over Lenovo…

    • Andrew Baxter July 16, 2012 at 12:05 pm #

      A lot of people end up trying to decide between the dv6-7000 and Lenovo Y580. I actually did a video comparison here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U5g9YTi4Vvc. There’s no clear winner, both have their merits. The Nvidia GTX 660M in the Y580 is better, but not by much.

  46. RyanZ July 17, 2012 at 3:46 pm #

    I just wanted to say I’ve been researching for over a week trying to figure out which laptop to buy. Your glowing and very informative review gave me the info I needed to finally make a decision. Thanks A TON.

  47. Diana July 17, 2012 at 4:29 pm #

    Is this a good configuration. I did not need the 1080p screen. Also, I could not add the acceleration cache because I got a hybrid 7200 rpm hard drive. Your reviews are awesome.

    dv6t Quad Ed
    • Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    • 3rd generation Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3610QM Processor (2.3 GHz, 6MB L3 Cache)
    • NVIDIA(R) GeForce(R) GT 630M Graphics with 1GB GDDR3 memory [HDMI, VGA]
    • 8GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)
    • Microsoft(R) Office Starter: reduced-functionality Word/Excel(R) only, No PowerPoint(R)/Outlook(R)
    • 750GB 7200 rpm Hybrid Hard Drive with HP ProtectSmart Hard Drive Protection
    • NO mSSD Hard Drive Acceleration Cache
    • System Recovery DVD with Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
    • No additional security software
    • 30% off 9 cell Lithium Ion Battery
    • 15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1366×768)
    • FREE Upgrade to Blu-ray player & SuperMulti DVD burner
    • HP TrueVision HD Webcam
    • Intel 802.11b/g/n WLAN and Bluetooth(R)
    • Backlit Keyboard with numeric keypad
    • Roxio Creator 2012
    • HP Home & Home Office Store in-box envelope

    • Andrew Baxter July 17, 2012 at 5:00 pm #

      Diana, you don’t need the Acceleration cache if you get the hybrid hard drive, it will already offer SSD like performance so that’s a good upgrade. So long as you don’t care about running the latest games it’s a perfect configuration for your needs, I like you got the backlit keyboard as well. The Nvidia 650m is recommended if you want to run demanding 3D games such as Skyrim. Thanks for the comments and feedback!

  48. Mohit Sahni July 27, 2012 at 7:19 pm #

    Hi Andrew,

    Please help me out on this one…
    Whats the wireless technology along with the HP DV6TQE. No one has mentioned the wireless details is it intel 1000, 2200, 6250, 6300 ??? Also is it WIDI capable. Cause I am looking to buy the NETGEAR 6300 AC router and am looking for gigabit WiFi if possible.

    Thanks

    • allan August 14, 2012 at 6:32 am #

      HP (lack of) Tech support was not able to provide the WiFi card other than “Intel” but for WiDi you need to order Bluetooth under the wireless option

  49. lumberjack23 August 14, 2012 at 1:49 am #

    In regarding to heat, i think it’s better to run games longer. 20mins 105F really tells nothing. At least 1h should be fine.

  50. Aaron September 10, 2012 at 2:44 am #

    That looks like a USB 2.0 / eSata combo port on the rear right

Leave a Reply