Lenovo IdeaPad Y480 with Intel Ivy Bridge now Shipping for $999

Lenovo has just this week listed the IdeaPad Y480 on Lenovo.com and marked it as “Coming Soon”, but online retailer Tigerdirect.com is offering a more immediate gratification, you can order the Y480 now and choose one or two day shipping and have it on your doorstep this week.  Which is interesting, seeing as the Y480 is an Intel Ivy Bridge equipped laptop and the processors still haven’t been announced.   The IdeaPad Y480 on sale at TigerDirect is the 2093-4FU SKU and comes with the following specs:

  • Processor: Intel Core i7-3610QM 2.3GHz
  • Screen: 14” 1366 x 768 resolution display
  • Graphics: Nvidia GeForce GT 640M with 1GB of GDDR5 memory
  • Memory: 8GB RAM
  • Storage: 750GB Hard Drive
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
  • Ports: 2 USB 2.0, 2 USB 3.0, headphones, microphone, HDMI, 6-in-1 card reader
  • Weight: 5.07lbs
  • Battery Life: 5 hours

image

The Core i7-3610QM Ivy Bridge processor paired with the Nvidia GeForce GT 640M will make for a capable portable gaming laptop, the Nvidia 640m uses the new Kepler architecture and should outperform it’s older GeForce 555m graphics card.   In terms of design, the Y480 is much like the older IdeaPad Y470 and Y470p we reviewed, though with a slightly different design accent on the lid.  An image from Lenovo of the Y480 can be seen below.

IdeaPad-Y480-Laptop-PC-Black-Pattern-Front-Back-View-1L-940x475

According to a Lenovo sales rep I spoke to, the Lenovo.com site will not be putting up a Buy button on the Y480 page until May.  If you wanted to be the first on your block to get an Ivy Bridge equipped laptop or had you heart set on the Y480, it seems Tigerdirect.com is your best option right now – until other retailers jump the gun that is!  It’s likely that when the Y480 goes on sale at Lenovo.com it will have a starting price of $899 but possibly a slightly lesser configuration than what you see with the Y480 2093-4FU model.

Related Reviews & Articles

Interested in Purchasing this Lenovo IdeaPad Laptop?

Here are the country specific links to Lenovo.com with current deals!



,

12 Responses to Lenovo IdeaPad Y480 with Intel Ivy Bridge now Shipping for $999

  1. Matt April 19, 2012 at 4:43 pm #

    I’m really curious about the discrete video card, the 640m. Lenovo’s spec sheet clearly lists it as the 640m LE, which I understand is an underclocked 640m, and that “due to a clock speed of just 500 MHz, the gaming performance of the GeForce GT 640M LE should be about 20 percent below the 640M. This would be the same level as the GT 635M or the GT 555M.” (http://www.notebookcheck.net/NVIDIA-GeForce-GT-640M-LE.72199.0.html)

    What seems critical is not whether Lenovo’s version is underclocked (I’m sure it is) but whether it has less than the 384 cores: “Watch out: Following rumors, there will also be a Fermi-based version (96 shaders, 762 MHz, DDR3/GDDR5, similar to 550M/555M) with a probably higher power consumption than the Kepler variant.”

    I’d love to know for sure which it is. I also wonder if the TigerDirect/CircuitCity price of $999 will be where Lenovo releases it or not. I’d be willing to bet Lenovo’s release on the comparable model will be a few dollars less, like $950-$975.

    • Matt April 19, 2012 at 4:47 pm #

      Forgot to mention: it’s also telling that the Y480 spec sheet lists estimated battery life at 4 hours. Think about it…Ivy Bridge CPU AND Kepler 28nm graphics card…and STILL the same estimated battery life as the Y470/y470P??? I realize those estimates are not worth the paper their printed on, but come on, if you’re selling a newer, faster, sleeker machine (with presumably more efficient power use) it should show up in the battery estimates!

    • Matt April 19, 2012 at 5:03 pm #

      Sorry for clogging the airwaves, but I should temper my comments about the 640m/640m LE by noting that the ONLY version of the Y480 listed by Lenovo so far is a Core i3 (2093-4SU; http://www.lenovo.com/shop/americas/content/pdf/system_data/y480_tech_specs.pdf) so it’s entirely possible that that particular model is the low-end Y480, and higher models will have the 640m. However, there is no precedent for that in the Y-line as far as I can tell — all models in the same level seem to come with the same graphics card. Why Lenovo would put 640M on their product description, and then 640m LE on their spec sheet, is not clear to me. (However, they have messed up on the Y470p recently, listing it incorrectly with the Geforce 550m).

      ALSO worth noting: Lenovo now has the release price of the Y480 listed at $899 (http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/web/LenovoPortal/en_US/catalog.workflow:category.details?current-catalog-id=12F0696583E04D86B9B79B0FEC01C087&current-category-id=C46D71ACFD7C4475B8E490358F8CA8C3) though that’s likely to be the Core i3 model. Funny that the Y’s are *never* really over $1000. ;)

    • Matt April 19, 2012 at 5:15 pm #

      And now I just realized the end of this very report mentions the $899 and “slightly lesser configuration.” Sorry. Four posts in a row is a record for me. :)

    • Andrew Baxter April 20, 2012 at 1:43 am #

      Matt, I ordered and got the Y480 from TigerDirect, just picked it up from UPS this evening after missing delivery. I’ll post at least some findings and first thoughts tomorrow, and a full review next week.

    • Matt April 20, 2012 at 2:16 am #

      Andrew, just noticed that you picked one up. Awesome! I’m really looking forward to hearing your impressions. First order of business: tell me what you think of that wonky touchpad? Is it a Macbook clone? Where are the buttons…does the near end of the pad dip and click?

    • Andrew Baxter April 20, 2012 at 11:52 am #

      hey Matt, I’ll post a first thoughts by end of day today and provide feedback on those q’s.

    • Matt April 20, 2012 at 1:45 pm #

      Great! FYI it seems Lenovo figured out their mistake and pulled the listings of the Y480 — now only the Y470p shows up when you search for 14″ laptops on their site. :(

  2. Matt April 19, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    Ah, OK, a bit of the mystery is unraveling. I’ve spotted numerous differences between the “data sheet”:

    http://www.lenovo.com/products/us/laptop/ideapad/y-series/y480/Y480_Datasheet.pdf

    and the spec sheet, which was probably produced more recently (dated in April):

    http://www.lenovo.com/shop/americas/content/pdf/system_data/y480_tech_specs.pdf

    That helps explain some of the mixed information (e.g., battery life, 2nd gen vs. 3rd gen CPU, weight, etc.) I’m seeing across sources! And maybe I was a little wrong about GPUs since the data sheet mentions “up to 650m”. I guess cards do vary within a model…?

  3. Matt April 19, 2012 at 7:20 pm #

    Update: looks like Lenovo accidentally left the back door open on the Y480’s. A bunch of models pop up (with buy button, but also “ships in more than 4 weeks”) when you search for 14″ notebooks:

    http://shop.lenovo.com/SEUILibrary/controller/e/web/LenovoPortal/en_US/catalog.workflow:category.details?current-catalog-id=12F0696583E04D86B9B79B0FEC01C087&current-category-id=C46D71ACFD7C4475B8E490358F8CA8C3&tabname=Gallery#/?facet-3=4&page-index=1

    • Andrew Baxter April 20, 2012 at 1:42 am #

      And the price is terrible, $1,649 starting? I guess they don’t really want to sell any. Nice sleuth work in finding that.

  4. Matt April 20, 2012 at 2:13 am #

    I just checked the price history on the Y470p and it looks like it’s been on sale pretty much since release. I wouldn’t pay no attention to those early-bird prices! I also wonder if those descriptions we’re seeing are filled with errors…like the “32GB 5400 SSD”? What the heck? LOL

Leave a Reply